Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 512-473-0404

TDI Designates Memorial Day Weekend Floods a Catastophe


On June 5, 2015 in a Texas Department of Insurance Bulletin, the Commissioner of Insurance, David C. Mattax declared Harris County, Dallas County, Travis County, Fort Bend County, Tarrant County, Bexar County, Hays County, Rusk County, Randall County, Williamson County, Collin County, Lubbock County, Montgomery County, Cherokee County, Ellis County, Denton County, Wichita County, Brazoria County, Nueces County, Johnson County, Parker County, Bell County, Grayson County, and Bastrop County as catastrophe areas for the purpose of claims processing.

According to the Bulletin, claims resulting directly from the identified catastrophe in the counties listed above will be subject to the additional time periods for claims processing authorized by Texas Insurance Code §542.059.

Insurers still must promptly acknowledge receipt of a claim and make appropriate assignments for the investigation of a claim. Policyholders should continue to receive the timely service that they expect and should not be delayed in receiving the benefits that they deserve because of the additional time.

There are still time limits on submitting your claims, so DO NOT HESITATE in thoroughly documenting your damage and submitting your claim.

If your property was damaged or destroyed in the recent Texas floods, and you feel like you are not being treated fairly by your insurance company, do not hesitate to contact the Law Offices of J Pete Laney 512-463-0404 or contact us through our website.